What is a Zodiac / Rashi?

Earth rotates on its axis as soon as in each 24 hours. At the identical time earth revolves as soon as round solar in a single 12 months. This motion of earth makes us really feel that the solar is shifting across the stars. This imaginary path of solar is referred to as the Ecliptic. The sky path extending to about Eight levels on either side of Ecliptic is referred to as Zodiac. This resembles a belt. We really feel that moon and different planets transfer on this zodiac. Since earth exists on this photo voltaic system the celebs and planets within the zodiac belt affect us.

Zodiac is a circle. In order to know the place of stars and planets on this circle, a place to begin is needed. Hindu astrology estimates that the primary diploma of the circle begins from the tip of the final Pāda of the final star within the constellation, Revathi. From this place to begin the circle has been divided into 12 equal elements of 30 levels every. These 12 elements are often called Mēsham, Vrishabham, Mithunam, Karkātakam, Simham, Kanya, Tula, Vriśchikam, Dhanussu, Makaram, Kumbham and Meenam.

There are 27 star constellations within the zodiac. These 27 constellations exist in 12 Rāśis. Thus there are 2 ¼ stars in a single Rāśi. (12 x 2 ¼ = 27). Indian astrology is based mostly on 27 stars and 9 planets.


Lord of Stars

Dasa ruling interval

1. Aswini

10. Makha

19. Moola


7 years

2. Bharani

11. Purvaphalguni

20. Purvashada

Venus (Śukra)

20 years

3. Krittika

12. Utaraphalguni

21. Uttarashada

Sun (Ravi)

6 years

4. Rohini

13. Hasta

22. Shravana

Moon (Chandra)

10 years

5. Mrigasira

14. Chitra

23. Dhanishta

Mars (Kuja)

7 years

6. Ardra

15. Swati

24. Satabhisha


18 years

7. Punarvasu

16. Vishakha

25. Purvabhadra

Jupiter (Guru)

16 years

8. Pushyami

17. Anuradha

26. Uttarabhadra

Saturn (Śani)

19 years

9. Ashlesha

18. Jyeshta

27. Revati

Mercury (Budha)

17 years

120 years

Nine planets

Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Rāhu and Kētu are the 9 planets. Among these Rāhu and Kētu don’t have bodily existence as they’re solely shadow planets.


Source link