Uttarakhand: Cong nominee Pradeep Tamta wins RS seat with PDF support, BJP ‘not disappointed’

Rajya Sabha, Uttarakhand Rajya Sabha, Uttarakhand Rajya Sabha members, Pradeep tamat, RS poll results, Uttarakhand RS poll results, Uttarakhand news, India news
Returning officer Jagdish Chandra welcome Pradeep Tamta for profitable Rajya Sabha seat in Dehradun on Saturday. (PTI Photo)

Congress nominee Pradeep Tamta Saturday gained the Rajya Sabha election from Uttarakhand with help from six MLAs of Progressive Democratic Front (PDF).

Thanking his and PDF’s MLAs for “maintaining unity” in supporting Tamta, Chief Minister Harish Rawat termed it a “victory of people”. “A Dalit has been elected to Rajya Sabha,” Rawat mentioned, and slammed BJP, which “tried to use money power to get its candidate elected but failed in its intentions”.

Tamta, who has been a Lok Sabha member from Almora prior to now, defeated BJP-supported candidate Anil Goyal, who secured 26 votes, all from members of the saffron celebration.


Watch Video: What’s making news

As per the present power — 58 — within the Uttarakhand meeting, a candidate wanted 30 votes to safe a berth within the Upper House. Tamta edged previous Goyal by securing six extra votes from PDF, which is a coalition of two legislators of BSP, one in every of Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and three Independents.

The election for the only RS seat from Uttarakhand, which had fallen vacant after BJP chief Tarun Vijay’s time period expired, didn’t witness cross-voting.

Congress chief and CM’s adviser Surendra Agrawal reiterated Rawat’s assertion that no Dalit had been elected to Rajya Sabha from Uttarakhand for the reason that state was fashioned in 2000. When Uttarakhand was a part of Uttar Pradesh, a Congress chief from Almora, Ram Prasad Tamta, was a Dalit to have been elected to Rajya Sabha.

Winner Pradeep Tamta mentioned the BJP has labored in opposition to the wholesome custom of not fielding a candidate. “BJP first decided to not field a candidate but later its two leaders filed their nomination as Independents. The party also asked candidate Geeta Thakur, who is a Dalit, to withdraw after promising to support her,” Tamta mentioned and instructed that the saffron celebration “take lesson from this defeat”.

BJP spokesperson Vinay Goyal mentioned the outcomes had been “not a disappointment”. “We did not have the required numbers to ensure a win for our candidate and so we decided not to field anyone. But we appreciate the courage shown by Anil Goyal who contested the election against the Congress. BJP also appreciates the commitment of its MLAs who remained loyal and did not go for cross voting despite allurement from Congress,” he claimed.

Polling for the only seat was necessitated as a result of BJP’s state govt member Anil Goyal and celebration’s state secretary Geeta Thakur filed nomination as Independents with the celebration’s help. Thakur, nevertheless, give up the BJP in a last-minute choice late Friday night and introduced her help to Congress. She was reportedly requested by the BJP to withdraw and help Anil Goyal.

She mentioned the celebration “suffered from an anti-woman and anti-Dalit mindset” and claimed that she was “forced to back out”. Accusing the BJP of persecuting her mentally, she mentioned her hopes had been first raised after which mercilessly dashed attributable to “money and briefcase politics”.

Holding Uttarakhand BJP in-charge Shyam Jaju and celebration’s nationwide organisation co-secretary Shivprakash chargeable for the “insult”, Thakur had mentioned Friday that she was resigning from the first membership of the celebration in addition to from the membership of the Central Board of Film Certification and in addition because the model ambassador of the Beti Bachao-Beti Padhao scheme of the central authorities “with immediate effect”.

Source link